Sleeping Beauty, Special Bedtime Moment #4

***I have partnered with GoodNites® for this series of posts; I am being compensated for writing about my family’s bedtime routine, not for endorsing a product.***

I love sniffing my little kid when she is asleep.

I love when I can kiss her little sleeping hand and smell Play-Doh, kiss the back of her neck and smell the days sunscreen or kiss her hair and smell her sweet soft curls.

sleeping beauty

I could watch her sleep all night. There are times that I go into her room and just sit by her bed when I can’t sleep. I listen to her breathing, watch her toes twitch with dreams and sometimes even get to hear her talk in her sleep (seriously, the girl is a sleeping chatterbox.)

I look back at all those nights my husband and I dreaded, knowing she would either wake one of us or fight going down. While it has been hard that we haven’t been able to add to our family just yet I treasure that I have been able to spend so many nights dedicated to putting her to sleep, letting time with either my husband or me be how she ends the day. She has never had to crawl into bed alone and fall asleep. We have always gone in with her and it has become second nature to say “I love you my little princess, sleep well” as I walk out her door each night.

Sure maybe some people would say that we have spoiled her by having such a specific nighttime routine each night. But every night I put that little kid to bed she wakes up older the next day. I am blessed that I am able to be there at the end of each of her days and also be there at the beginning of each of her mornings.

I dearly hope that through this special bedtime moments opportunity you have had the chance to see bedtime as a treasured time, not one to fear or countdown the minutes to (although I am guilty of that.) Hopefully you maybe learned some tips on how to make bedtime easier, something that is anticipated rather than feared.

I know I have.

Leave a Reply

